The Maureen Clarke Grant Program

In honor of the founder's mother, Maureen Clarke, we've started this grant program where each year we will give two $1,000 grants to help a young adult cancer patient pay a cancer bill. 

To Apply:

  • Hand print your complete name, address, telephone number and date of birth. Participant must include their birth date and signature on entry form certifying that he/she is, at least 21 years of age and no more than 49 years of age as of January 31, 2020.

  • Send with the fully completed entry form along with a type-written essay from 500 to 800 words, no exceptions) that provides a humorous anecdote about the applicant’s personal encounter in dealing with cancer.

  • Applicant must currently be undergoing treatment for cancer.

  • Include complete name and address for the individual submitting the essay on the essay. Mail entry form and essay to: Humor Beats Cancer, Inc., 600 S. Dearborn, #208, Chicago, Illinois 60605.

  • All grant entries/essays must be postmarked by January 31, 2020, the date the grant ends and

received by January 31, 2020.

  • LIMIT: One entry per person. Incomplete or illegible entries, entries without a signature or not including birth date will not be honored. Sponsor not responsible for lost, late, misdirected, damaged, illegible, incomplete, incorrect, misrouted or postage due entries/mail. Entries/essays become the property of Sponsor and will not be returned.


  • Each essay will be ranked in the following criteria: (a) Originality/Creativity (65%), (b) Appropriateness to Subject Matter (25%) and (c) Financial Need (10%).

  • Entrant whose essay earns the highest overall score will win. In the event of a tie, winner will be

selected based on the Originality/Creativity criterion.

Essay must be original, of entrant’s own writing style and creation. Essay must not have been entered in any other competition or violate the rights of other parties. Essay may not be offensive or defamatory, as determined by the judges.

  • Participant assigns and transfers to Sponsor all rights, title and interest to the essay.

  • Winner selection conducted by independent judges, whose decisions are final.

  • Judging will be conducted by or about March 1, 2020.

If you have any questions, please email

Full Rules and Details Available Here.

©2017 Humor Beats Cancer | Humor Beats Cancer is a 501(c)(3) tax exempt nonprofit organization.

  • Spotify
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

Site designed by Harrison Prifogle

Cover and page art by Natalie Battaglia • Logo by Stacy Curtis